India Women vs Sri Lanka Women: India Won by 5 Wickets, India Women’s Sri Lanka Tour, 2nd T20I

India Women vs Sri Lanka Women India Won by 5 Wickets, India Women’s Sri Lanka Tour, 2nd T20I

India played their second T20I match against Sri Lanka at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Dambulla on 25th June. The Indian women won the previous game played on Thursday, 23rd June by thirty-four runs. Harmanpreet Kaur led the team to their second victory of the Sri Lanka tour along with Smriti Mandhana. India and Sri Lanka will play three T20I and three ODI, where the women in blue have already won the first two T20I games.

Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana

IND-W vs SL-W: Highlights, 2nd T20I

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat first.

1st Inning

Sri Lanka:

Chamari Athapaththu

Vishmi Gunaratne and Chamari Athapaththu opened the game and scored very similar, forty-five and forty-three runs.

Harshitha Madavi failed to score many runs and was dismissed, making nine runs.

Kavisha Dilhari made two runs for her team in five balls.

Nilakshi de Silva scored a single run before heading back to the bench.

Hasini Perera failed to score any runs in the match.

Oshadi Ranasinghe made five runs in three balls.

Anushka Sanjeewani and Sugandika Kumari played till the end of the innings, making eight and one runs.

Sri Lanka gave India a target of 125 runs in twenty overs.

Also Read: Indian Women’s Tour of Sri Lanka 2022: Full Squad, Venue, Schedule of T20I and ODI Series


Harmanpreet Kaur

Pooja Vastrakar took the first wicket of Chamari Athapaththu with a catch by Radha Yadav in 14th over

Harmanpreet Kaur bowled and caught out Vishmi Gunaratne in the 17th over.

Deepti Sharma took two wickets, first of Harshita Madavi in the 18th over and second of Nilakshi de SIlva in the 18th over. 

Shafali Verma run out Hasini Perera in the first ball of the 19th over

Radha Yadav took the wicket of Oshadi Ranasinghe with a catch by Yastika Bhatia in the 19th over.

Renuka Singh got Kavisha Dilhari caught out with the help of Smriti Mandhana in the final over.

Also Read: BCCI Announces Indian Women’s Squad for Sri Lanka Tour, Harmanpreet Kaur to be the Captain

2nd Innings


Smriti Mandhana

Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma opened the second innings, where Mandhana scored thirty-nine runs and Verma made seventeen runs.

Sabbhineni Meghana scored seventeen runs, smashing one-six and two boundaries.

Captain Harmanpreet Kaur scored thirty-one runs and played till the end of the innings.

Jemimah Rodrigues showed poor performance and got three runs from her team.

Yastika Bhatia scored thirteen runs before getting knocked out.

Deepti Sharma also played till the end of the game, making five runs in five balls.

Also Read: Twitter Congratulates Mithali Raj Announces Retirement As The Cricket Icon Says Goodbye

Sri Lanka:

Sri Lanka Women’s Cricket Player

Oshadi Ranasinghe took two wickets for her team, first of Shafali Verma in the 4th and second of Yastika Bhatia in the 18th over.

Sugandika Kumari took the wicket of Sabbhineni Meghana with the catch by Kavisha Dilhari in the 6th over.

Inoka Ranaweera also bagged two Indian players, Smriti Mandhana in the 11th and Jemimah Rodrigues in the 13th over.

India reached the target with just five balls left and defeated Sri Lanka by five wickets.

Also Read: Mithali Raj Announces Retirement from All Formats of International Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *