Sunil Gavaskar Picks His 15-Member India Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Krunal Pandya In; No Place For Shikhar Dhawan And Shreyas Iyer

Sunil Gavaskar, a former Indian cricketer, has named his 15-man squad for the ICC T20 World Cup in 2021. Surprisingly, the former Indian captain left out Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer from his squad. Gavaskar included Krunal Pandya on his list. On Wednesday, the BCCI is scheduled to unveil the India squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. (September 9).

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will begin on October 17 in the United Arab Emirates. Prior to the World Cup, the IPL 2021 will be a big event held at the same location. The qualifying round will begin on October 17 and will be split into two groups. Only two clubs from each group will advance to the Super 12. Group 1 includes Australia, England, the West Indies, and South Africa, while Group 2 includes India, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan. These eight teams have already advanced to the Super 12 round.

During an interview with Sportstak, Sunil Gavaskar discussed his 15-man India squad. Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer were conspicuous omissions. For the past 7-8 years, Dhawan has been a frequent opener for India in limited-overs cricket. During India’s July tour of Sri Lanka, the left-handed batter also headed the second-string squad. Even in the first leg of the IPL 2021, Delhi Capitals opener Shikhar Dhawan finished as the top run-scorer.

Shreyas Iyer was not on the list either. Before the Sri Lanka visit, India’s last two T20I series were against England (March 2021) and Australia (March 2022). (December 2020). Both shows featured Shreyas Iyer. Iyer was ruled out of the game after suffering an elbow injury in March. Since then, he has not appeared in an international or competitive match. In the IPL 2021 UAE leg, though, he will make a comeback.

Sunil Gavaskar’s choice of Krunal Pandya to his team was an intriguing one. Gavaskar emphasised that the senior Pandya has been a regular performer in the IPL over the last three years, and that his left-handedness is an asset. Washington Sundar, who is now out of the lineup due to an injury, was also chosen by the 72-year-old. Sunil Gavaskar chose Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja as the other two all-rounders in his team.

Former Indian opener Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, and Deepak Chahar were chosen as pacers. Gavaskar’s side had only one full-time spinner, Yuzvendra Chahal. Gavaskar chose Rishabh Pant for the wicket-keeper position.

Sunil Gavaskar has named a 15-man India squad for the ICC T20 World Cup in 2021: Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar (subject to fitness), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravindra Ja Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, and Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *