T20 World Cup 2022: Nitin Menon to be amongst 16 Umpires

t20 world cup

ICC announced the set of World Cup referees and umpires. Indian referee Nitin Menon will be the part of 16 umpires to be present in Australia. The ICC revealed the Elite Panel of the non-playing members attending on the field to regulate the proper game. Nitin Menon is the only Indian member present in the Elite Panel selected amongst the best umpires.

“In total, 16 umpires will officiate across the tournament with Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Kumara Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus having been the umpires in charge of 2021 final which saw this year’s hosts claim their first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title,” ICC said in a statement.

ICC stated that these were selected directly based on the last year’s World Cup. All the 16 named umpires were part of last year’s T20 World Cup in middle-east. “It is an experienced group of umpires, with the same 16 selected as last year’s tournament which was held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.” 

“Officials have been named for the entirety of the First Round and Super 12s, with the selections for the semi-finals and final of the tournament to be named in due course,” ICC further stated

Match Officials of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022:

Match Referees: Andrew Pycroft, Christopher Broad, David Boon, Ranjan Madugalle

Umpires: Adrian Holdstock, Aleem Dar, Ahsan Raza, Christopher Brown, Christopher Gaffaney, Joel Wilson, Kumara Dharmasena, Langton Rusere, Marais Erasmus, Michael Gough, Nitin Menon, Paul Reiffel, Paul Wilson, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rodney Tucker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *