Indonesia Open 2022: HS Prannoy Defeats Lakshya Sen in the First Round of Men’s Singles

Indonesia Open 2022 HS Prannoy Defeats Lakshya Sen in the First Round of Mens Singles

Indonesia Open 2022 began on 14th June, Tuesday when Indian Women’s Singles rounds were held first. Indian two-time Olympic medallist PV Sindhu had to leave the tournament after her defeat in the first round. She was the only female to represent India after Saina Nehwal failed to qualify for the Open. India is lacking behind in this series after the women failed to establish their presence. 

Also Read: Indonesia Open 2022: Kidambi Srikanth Exits the Tournament After Losing to 41st Ranked Brice Leverdez

HS Prannoy

The men’s team also isn’t quite ahead, as they lost some games. Sai Praneet also lost the first round played at Isotara the same day Sindhu got out. On 15th June, India played two games with three players. Lakshya Sen and HS Prannoy went against each other, and Kidambi Srikanth against French player Brice Leverdez.

Also Read: Indonesia Open 2022: PV Sindhu, Sai Praneeth Lose the Opening Round

Lakshya Sen

Indonesia Open 2022: HS Prannoy Defeats Lakshya Sen in the First Round of Men’s Singles

Lakshya Sen just won the Thomas Cup last month and was shown the exit door by another Indian player HS Prannoy. It was a disastrous game for India as it finalized one player’s departure from the tournament. Two players from the men’s singles departed prematurely from the Indonesia Open. Both the Indians played the first round where the game ended 21-10 in favor of Prannoy. The second set also saw the same result, and HS Prannoy emerged victorious by 21-9.

Also Read: Indonesia Open 2022: PV Sindhu and Lakshya Sen End the Indian Challenge in Singles

HS Prannoy

The youngster defeated the Thomas Cup winner to secure his place in the second round of the Indonesia Open. India also passed the first round of men’s doubles and headed to the second. MR Arjun and Dhruv Kapila won against Japanese pair Kelichiro Matsui and Yoshinori Takeuchi. Indian women pair of Ashwini Bhat and Shikha Gautam lost to Chinese Zhang Shu Xian and Zheng Yu.

Also Read: Thomas Cup 2022: Indian Men’s Badminton team enters the Finals after Defeating Denmark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *