India Squad for Women’s Asia Cup Announced, Harmanpreet Kaur to lead

india squad

The BCCI announced the India squad for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup 2022 on Wednesday 21st September. The Women’s Asia Cup is scheduled to begin on 1st October. Bangladesh will be hosting the continental tournament. It will be a great chance for India to rise after the failure in the Men’s Asia Cup.

Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the team with Smriti Mandhana as her deputy. The Indian Women are currently touring England for the ODI series in which they are performing well. Jemimah Rodrigues is also picked for the Cup. She was absent from the England tour due to injury. 

Richa Ghosh will be the designated wicket-keeper, whereas Renuka Singh, Meghna Singh, and Pooja Vastrakar will be the leading bowlers of India. Mandhana and Shefali Verma will open for the team. Sabbineni Meghana, Dayalan Hemlatha and KP Navgire will be the top batswomen.

India Squad for Women’s Asia Cup.

Harmanpreet Kaur(C), Smriti Mandhana(VC), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh(WK), Sneh Rana, Dayalan, Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, KP Navgire.

Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia and Simran Dil Bahadur are the standby players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *