Asia Cup 2022: Sri Lanka Announces 18 Member Squad, Dasun Shanaka to Lead the Team

Asia Cup 2022 Sri Lanka Announces 18 Member Squad, Dasun Shanaka to Lead the Team

Sri Lanka Cricket has officially announced its squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022. It will begin from 27th August onwards, and six teams will participate in the continental tournament. The games will be played in the United Arab Emirates, at the Dubai International Stadium and the iconic Sharjah Stadium.

Dilshan Madushanka will play his maiden international match for Sri Lanka. Madushanka is a left-arm seamer who will make his international debut in the Asia Cup 2022. Dasun Shanaka will captain the Sri Lankan team, with Charith Asalanka as the vice-captain for the team. Sri Lanka will play the first game of the tournament against Afghanistan in Dubai on the 27th of August.

Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, and Jeffrey Vandersay are back in the squad. The three were absent from the T20I series against Australia in June. Binura Fernando and Kasun Rajitha won’t be present in the Cup due to injuries. Asitha Fernando and Pramod Madushan will replace the duo.

Read All the Sports News and Fantasy Cricket News

Sri Lanka Squad:

Along with Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and one qualified team will go head to head. 

Dasun Shanaka(C), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathurana, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal

Also Read: Jhulan Goswami to Receive a Farewell Game at Lord’s

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *