IPL 2024 Player Retentions: A Comprehensive Overview

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season is on the horizon, and the closure of the player retention window has set the stage for an exciting tournament. The ten franchises have collectively retained 173 players, highlighting their strategic approaches and expectations for the upcoming season.

Team-wise Retentions and Releases

Chennai Super Kings
  • Retained Players: Ajay Mandal, Ajinkya Rahane, Deepak Chahar, Devon Conway, and others.
  • Released Players: Akash Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Ben Stokes, and more.
Delhi Capitals
  • Retained Players: Abhishek Porel, Anrich Nortje, Axar Patel, David Warner, among others.
  • Released Players: Aman Khan, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, etc.
Gujarat Titans
  • Retained Players: Abhinav Sadarangani, B. Sai Sudharsan, Darshan Nalkande, David Miller, and more.
  • Released Players: Alzarri Joseph, Dasun Shanaka, K.S. Bharat, and others.
Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Retained Players: Andre Russell, Anukul Roy, Harshit Rana, Jason Roy, and others.
  • Released Players: Aarya Desai, David Wiese, Johnson Charles, among others.
Lucknow Super Giants
  • Retained Players: Amit Mishra, Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Devdutt Padikkal, and more.
  • Released Players: Arpit Guleria, Daniel Sams, Jaydev Unadkat, etc.
Mumbai Indians
  • Retained Players: Akash Madhwal, Arjun Tendulkar, Cameron Green, Dewald Brevis, and others.
  • Released Players: Chris Jordan, Duan Jansen, Hrithik Shokeen, etc.
Punjab Kings
  • Retained Players: Arshdeep Singh, Atharva Taide, Harpreet Brar, Jonny Bairstow, and more.
  • Released Players: Baltej Dhanda, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Gurnoor Singh Brar, etc.
Rajasthan Royals
  • Retained Players: Adam Zampa, Avesh Khan, Dhruv Jurel, Jos Buttler, and others.
  • Released Players: Abdul P A, Akash Vashisht, Joe Root, etc.
Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Retained Players: Akash Deep, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik, Faf Du Plessis, and more.
  • Released Players: Avinash Singh, David Willey, Finn Allen, etc.
Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Retained Players: Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and others.
  • Released Players: Adil Rashid, Akeal Hosein, Harry Brook, etc.

Squad Size, Salary Cap, and Available Slots

FranchiseNo. of PlayersNo. of Overseas PlayersTotal Money Spent (Rs.)Salary Cap Available (Rs.)Available SlotsOverseas Slots


The IPL 2024 player retention stage reveals the franchises’ tactical maneuvers and team-building strategies. With the retained core and upcoming fresh auctions, the teams are gearing up for a season filled with exciting cricketing action. The blend of experienced stalwarts and young talents promises an exhilarating season of the IPL.

Source: Official IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *