Karnataka: CM Bommai announces weekend curfew in border districts

In all areas bordering Kerala and Maharashtra, the Karnataka government has decided to implement a weekend curfew. Belagavi, Bidar, Kalaburgi, Vijayapura, Mysuru, Chamarajanagara, Kodagu, and Dakshina Kannada will be subjected to a weekend curfew that will last from Friday 9 p.m. to Monday 5 a.m.

The government has been closely monitoring the COVID-19 situation in the state and neighboring states, according to Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai, who called a meeting of the COVID-19 expert group on Friday, which included Dr. Devi Shetty, Dr. C N Manjunath, Dr. M K Sudarshan, and Dr. Ravi.

“We have decided to extend the statewide night curfew from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m., in addition to the weekend curfew in border areas,” stated Bommai.

In addition, the administration intends to reopen the schools in stages.

“We sought advice from specialists in the fields of health and education. They have counseled us on the prospect of gradually reopening the schools. To begin, the schools will return for grades 9 through 12 on August 23. On alternating days, schools will be forced to offer courses in batches (three days a week for each batch). However, after analysing the COVID-19 situation in the state, a decision on reopening elementary and secondary schools will be made by the end of August,” stated Bommai.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *